Do your products contain the 8 major allergens? What is your allergen policy?
We want you to know that we understand the serious nature of food allergens and we strive to eliminate risk for our consumers. Our allergen control program is the most important aspect to our manufacturing process.
We assure you that all of our manufacturing facilities follow robust allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.
Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized. We recommend you refer to the packaging of the individual products for allergen information. By law, we declare all 8 major US food allergens (peanuts, soybeans, milk, eggs, fish, crustaceans, tree nuts, and wheat) on our packaging.
By referencing the strict manufacturing process and production scheduling, does that mean that the product may have been processed on machinery that was thoroughly cleaned but previously processed one of the major allergens?
We don’t have dedicated facilities/equipment so the machinery may have previously processed a product with a major allergen. All of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs and we declare all allergens on our package labels. You may wish to review the ingredient statement with your child’s doctor to determine if it’s suitable for your needs.
Are your products gluten free?
Gluten is the general name for the proteins in wheat, rye and barley. Gluten is responsible for forming the structure of dough, holding products together and leavening. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include oats, natural flavors or spices.
Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim are declared as such by utilizing a triangular Gluten-Free symbol, by carrying the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) Seal, or stating “gluten free” on packaging.
In addition to meeting the FDA’s standard for ‘Gluten Free’ of less than 20 parts per million of gluten, all of our gluten free products are formulated without the presence of any gluten containing ingredients. All manufacturing facilities for Hain Celestial’s products employ good manufacturing processes and procedures to prevent allergen cross-contact. Each facility has established rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen containing ingredients, production
scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation. These allergen and sanitation programs are verified annually by our Quality Assurance department.
Barley, Bulgur, Cereal Binding, Couscous, Durum, Einkorn, Emmer, Filler, Farro, Graham Flour, Kamut, Malt, Malt Extract, Malt Flavoring, Malt Syrup, Oat Bran*, Oats*, Oat Syrup*, Rye, Semolina, Spelt, Triticale, Wheat, Wheat Bran, Wheat Germ, Wheat Starch *Oats are genetically gluten free. It is, however possible for cross contact with gluten containing grains to occur during planting, growing, harvesting and processing. Because of this most oat products sourced from all parts of the world have been suspect of containing some level of detectible gluten.
Is there BPA/BPS in your product packaging?
All our Earth’s Best® products are manufactured in non-BPA packaging. The non-BPA linings of our Earth’s Best® jarred food lids are made from specially designed polyester or acrylic.
How do I read the expiration date on your products?
In general, our date codes follow a Day, Month, Year format (DD,MMM,YY). The first two numbers in the code represent the day, the next three letters the month, and the next two numbers the year. Any letters and/or numbers following the date code are used for our tracking purposes.
Are your jars recyclable?
Yes, our glass jars are 100% recyclable
Can you make your pouches so they are recyclable?
While our pouches are not currently recyclable, we are actively seeking solutions that will allow our pouches to be fully recycled.
Where are the Earth’s Best formulas manufactured?
Earth’s Best® organic infant formulas are manufactured and packaged in the USA.
Are your formulas FDA Approved? All infant formulas must be approved by the FDA before they can be marketed.
For products containing dairy, how are the cows treated and fed? The dairy ingredients used in our Earth’s Best® Organic Infant Formula are from cows fed and raised according to organic regulations which include grass fed and organic feed.
Are Earth’s Best infant formulas clinically tested to ensure bioavailability of all nutrients?
All infant formulas are designed to provide the nutrients in the amounts listed on the label, ensuring complete, balanced nutrition for healthy term infants.
Has Earth’s Best Organic® Soy Formula been discontinued?
Due to organic soy supply challenges, we recently reformulated our Earth’s Best® plant-based formula product for infants with dairy intolerances. We changed the source of soy protein from USDA certified organic soy to non GMO sourced soy. Our new product has the same nutritional profile as it did before and provides the same amount of soy protein for overall growth and development and DHA and ARA for brain and eye development. Look for Earth’s Best® Non-GMO Plant Based Formula in stores and online today.
What is the difference between Earth’s Best Organic® Infant Sensitivity® Formula and Earth’s Best Organic Gentle® Formula?
Both Earth’s Best Organic® Infant Sensitivity® and Gentle® Formulas are for babies with intolerance or sensitivity issues who exhibit signs of fussiness, gas and crying. Our Sensitivity formula is a reduced lactose formula with 95% less lactose as compared to standard milk-based formulas. Our Gentle formula contains easy-to-digest proteins including partially hydrolyzed whey. This formula is meant for infants having difficulty digesting proteins. It is the first organic gentle formula available. Both formulas meet FDA requirements for infant nutrition, contain no genetically modified ingredients, are made without prohibited synthetic pesticides or fertilizers, and are produced with milk from grass and grain fed cows not treated with artificial growth hormones or antibiotics.
Does the Soy Formula contain Gluten?
Our Earth’s Best Organic Soy Infant Formula doesn’t contain any gluten containing ingredients. Our
manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs and good manufacturing practices to prevent products coming into contact with allergens. You may wish to consult with your child’s health care provider regarding the use of this product and any dietary concerns.
Do your products contain brown rice syrup? Our Earth’s Best Organic® Infant Formulas do not contain brown rice syrup.
What is the purpose of corn syrup solids in your formula? For optimal growth and development, the FDA requires infant formulas to contain a certain mix of fats, and proteins as well as vitamins and minerals. Some babies are sensitive to lactose. Our Sensitivity Infant Formula has a reduced level of lactose which is replaced with easy-to-digest corn syrup solids. All Earth’s Best® organic infant formulas meet infant feeding requirements and are made without GMO ingredients.
Are the Earth’s Best® Organic Infant Formulas considered vegan? No, Earth’s Best® Organic Infant Formulas are not vegan.
Why is my banana baby food pink?
Bananas can vary from yellowish-beige to pink in color. It is a natural variance after cooking and still perfectly safe for your child to consume.
Is there any arsenic in your products, particularly your infant rice cereal?
Food safety is our greatest priority at Earth’s Best – and attention to arsenic in food and beverage products is also of utmost concern to us. While Arsenic is naturally present in the environment, leading to trace amounts that may be detected in foods and beverages, we assure you that our high quality organic ingredients are produced without the use of arsenical-containing pesticides and fertilizers in an effort to minimize the presence of arsenic. Our Consumer Care Department is available should you have further questions. 1- 800-442-4221.
Where do you source the ingredients used in your Earth’s Best® Organic Whole Grain Cereals?
Our Earth’s Best® Organic Whole Grain Cereals are currently manufactured at several manufacturing locations due to its high demand by consumers. Earth’s Best® Whole Grain Cereals predominantly uses ingredients sourced domestically. Products manufactured in the US do not require Country of Origin Labeling.
I left jars/ pouches in the car in the cold and they froze/ ordered them online and they were left on my doorstep in the freezing cold, are they safe for my baby to eat?
Once the products leave our distribution centers, temperature changes in the winter months or in transit can cause some jars to freeze and then thaw, which can result in unusual product texture such as separation and a dry or spongy appearance. There is no food safety issue associated with this issue, however, we understand if you feel that the texture of the product does not meet the high quality that you have come to expect from us. If you have any further questions, please call us at 1-800-442-4221.
Where can I purchase your products? We encourage you to visit the “Find a Store” section of our website. There you can search for specific products in and around your zip code.
Are there any hormones or antibiotics in earth’s best chicken?
The chickens used in Earth’s Best® products are not administered antibiotics or hormones.
Are all Earth’s Best products organic?
Earth’s Best® infant and toddler formulas, infant foods, Sesame Street products, and chicken fries are certified USDA organic (the one exception is Earth’s Best Sesame Street Cheddar Crackers). The cheddar crackers are made with organic ingredients. Some of our frozen products are not organic but are all natural and non-GMO.